Back to site


Image of THE BILINDA BUTCHERS - HEAVEN (2nd pressing)



Ships close to the beginning of March.
Limited to 150 black vinyl records.

HEAVEN is the debut LP from the San Francisco pop trio The Bilinda Butchers and is also their first release with Orchid Tapes.

About the concept behind the album:

"Heaven is the title of the diary written by Nakajima Ume, a young woman who lived in Japan from 1836 to 1864. It's entries catalog her catastrophic marriage to a cruel nobleman, and her later introduction to a young, idealistic poet whose expressions of sympathy inspire her to escape from her unfortunate circumstances.

When her friendship with the poet is discovered, Ume is sent away to a distant village, where she falls into a deep depression and eventually learns of the poet’s death. Though the news of the poet’s death initially disturbs Ume, she soon discovers within herself a new sense of clarity and motivation. Her diary ends with a final pronouncement: she will drown herself in order to reunite with her fallen lover."

1. Ume ft. Juri Nakashima
2. Less Than
3. Old Style Amami ft. Juri Nakashima
4. Shadow Beat
5. Golden House ft. Sarah P
6. New Style Akashi ft. Juri Nakashima
7. The Lovers' Suicide
8. Tanka ft. Lamp
9. Edo Method
10. The River Sumida
11. Golden House 2 ft. Juri Nakashima
12. Heaven Holds a Place ft. Harriet Brown
13. Heaven ft. Juri Nakashima

Each order will include:

• An info/lyrics/artwork insert
• A thank-you note + Orchid Tapes sticker
• A hand-pressed Bilinda Butchers button
• A logo-stamped oolong or jasmine tea bag
• Guava candy
• Endless love from your friends here at Orchid Tapes :+)

Thank you so much for your love and support, we wouldn't be able to do the things we do without it.

Sold Out